Maine Revised Statutes

§161. Legislative Council

1. Establishment; membership.   The Legislative Council, consisting of 10 members, 5 of whom are members of the Senate and 5 of whom are members of the House of Representatives, is established. The members of the Legislative Council are:
A. The President of the Senate; [2015, c. 102, §1 (NEW).]
B. The Speaker of the House of Representatives; and [2015, c. 102, §1 (NEW).]
C. The majority and minority leaders and assistant leaders of the 2 political parties with the greatest number of members in each body. [2015, c. 102, §1 (NEW).]
Only a person who holds an office specified in paragraph A, B or C may be a member of the Legislative Council and is a member only during the term of the Legislature in which that office is held. The Legislative Council shall elect a chair from within its own membership.
The Legislative Council shall exercise such powers and duties as may be delegated by law or by rule of the Legislature. Any action by the Legislative Council requires the affirmative votes of a majority of the members.
The Legislative Council shall meet at least once monthly when the Legislature is not in session, unless the chair determines that a meeting is not necessary, and at such other times as the membership or the chair determines necessary.
[ 2015, c. 102, §1 (NEW) .]
1965, c. 425, §§2-B (AMD). 1973, c. 590, §3 (RPR). 1979, c. 127, §5 (AMD). 2015, c. 102, §1 (RPR).