Maine Revised Statutes

§9084. Issuance of licenses

The board shall, within 30 days following receipt of application, issue a license to operate any manufactured housing community that is found to comply with this subchapter and the rules adopted by the board. [2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §31 (AMD).]

When any applicant is found, based upon an inspection by the board or by municipal inspection made according to section 9088, not in compliance with the requirements of this subchapter or rules adopted and approved pursuant to section 9085 or section 9088, subsection 1, the board may refuse issuance of the initial license but may issue a conditional license with such terms and conditions as required by the board except when conditions are found that present a danger to the health and safety of the public. A conditional license may not exceed 90 days. Failure by the conditional licensee to meet the terms and conditions specified permits the board to void the conditional license. [2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §32 (AMD).]

The conditional license is void when the board has delivered in hand or by certified mail a written notice to the conditional licensee or, if the licensee cannot be reached for service in hand or by certified mail, has left notice thereof at the facility. [2007, c. 402, Pt. D, §14 (AMD).]

Upon the written request of the board, the Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention shall provide such technical services as may be required by the board to assist with inspections and licensing of new manufactured housing communities. The department may assess the manufactured housing community owner a reasonable fee for these services. [2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §33 (AMD).]

A license expires on the date set by the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation pursuant to section 8003, subsection 4 for the licensing period for which the license was issued. A license may be renewed upon receipt of an application for renewal and payment of the renewal fee as set under section 9021, subsection 2-A, subject to compliance with rules of the board and with this subchapter. A license may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of its expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee as set under section 9021, subsection 2-A. An applicant who submits an application for renewal more than 90 calendar days after the expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter. [2009, c. 241, Pt. A, §8 (AMD).]

The issuance of the license provided for in this subchapter does not provide exemption from other state or local laws, ordinances or regulations, notwithstanding any other provision of law. [1983, c. 553, §17 (NEW).]

A license issued under this subchapter may not be assigned or transferred. [2007, c. 402, Pt. D, §14 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1983, c. 553, §17 (NEW). 1993, c. 642, §38 (AMD). 1995, c. 353, §8 (AMD). 1999, c. 386, §C4 (AMD). 2003, c. 689, §B6 (REV). 2007, c. 402, Pt. D, §14 (AMD). 2009, c. 241, Pt. A, §§7, 8 (AMD). 2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §§31-33 (AMD).