Previous PageTable Of ContentsNext Page

First Regular Session of the 121st

S.P. 510 - L.D. 1522

An Act To Establish Fee Caps under the Maine Insurance Code

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

     Sec. 1. 24-A MRSA §601, as amended by PL 2001, c. 47, §1, is further amended to read:

§601. Fee schedule

     The superintendent shall collect, and persons so served shall pay to the superintendent, the fees, licenses and miscellaneous charges as follows set forth in this section. The superintendent may adopt rules establishing the fees and charges in different amounts from those specified under this section, except that the amount of any such fee or charge may not exceed the cap established in this section. In the absence of such rules, the maximum amounts set forth in this section apply. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

     1. Certificate of authority. Insurer's certificate of authority fees are may not exceed:

     2. Charter documents, other than those filed with application for certificate of authority. The fee: for filing by an insurer for a reservation of a name; in addition to any other fee, a late filing of any information required to be filed by a licensee; registration of a branch location; and filing any amendment to certificate of organization, articles or certificate of incorporation, charter, bylaws, power of attorney, as to reciprocal insurers, and other constitutent documents of the insurer is may not exceed


     3. Annual statement. Filing annual statement of insurer, payable annually may not exceed $100;

     5. Producers. Producers' license and appointment fees are may not exceed:

     7. Consultants. Consultant license fees are may not exceed:

     8. Adjusters. Adjuster license fees are may not exceed:

     9-A. Application. Application for license fees are may not exceed:

     10. Vending machines. Insurance vending machines fees are may not exceed:

Issuance fee for license, each machine $100; and
Biennial continuation of license, each machine $100.

     11. Rating organizations and advisory organizations. Rating organizations and advisory organizations fees are may not exceed:

Original license issuance fee $200; and
Biennial continuation of license $200.

     13. Copies of certificates. Certified copy of insurer certificate of authority or other license issued under this Title may not exceed $10.

     14. Copies of other documents. Copies of other documents on file in the bureau: reasonable charge as fixed by the superintendent; and for certifying and fixing official seal may not exceed $10.

     16. Self-insurance authorization. Fees applicable to each self-insurer, individual or group, seeking authorization or authorized to operate a workers' compensation self-insurance plan may not exceed:

If a self-insurer terminates the plan or otherwise does not continue to self-insure, the fee applicable to filing of yearly reports must apply to that period in which the making of these reports is mandated.

     17. Rules, rates and forms filings. Rate filings, rating rules filings, insurance policy, forms, riders, endorsements and certificate filings may not exceed $20.

     18. Third-party administrators. Third-party administrators license fees are may not exceed:

     19. Purchasing group registrations. Purchasing group registration fees are may not exceed:

     20. Preferred provider arrangement administrator. Preferred provider arrangement administrator fees are may not exceed:

     21. Reinsurance intermediary. Reinsurance intermediary issuance fees and renewal fees are may not exceed:

     22. Managing general agents. Managing general agents fees are may not exceed:

     23. Continuing education vendors and courses. Filing fees for continuing education courses and vendors are may not exceed:

     24. Multiple-employer welfare arrangements. Applications for authorization may not exceed $500.

     25. Transferees of structured settlement payment rights. Transferees of structured settlement payment rights registration fees are may not exceed:

     26. Accreditation as reinsurer. Application fee for accreditation as reinsurer may not exceed $500.

Effective September 13, 2003, unless otherwise indicated.

Revisor of Statutes Homepage Subject Index Search 121st Laws of Maine Maine Legislature

About the 2003 Laws Of Maine

Previous PageTop Of PageTable Of ContentsNext Page

Office of the Revisor of Statutes
State House, Room 108
Augusta, Maine 04333

Contact the Office of the Revisor of Statutes