Public Laws

124th Legislature

Second Regular Session

Chapter 650

S.P. 747 - L.D. 1832

An Act To Amend the Laws Governing the Election of Androscoggin County Commissioner District Budget Committee Members

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, new Androscoggin County budget committee members will be chosen in June and changes are necessary to reflect the current commissioner districts; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA 723, sub-1, D, as enacted by PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, 2 and Pt. C, 106 and amended by PL 1989, c. 6; c. 9, 2; and c. 104, Pt. C, 8 and 10, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

D. The votes of each municipality shall be multiplied by the figure next to the municipality's name as follows:

(1) For Commissioner District Number One:

(a) Durham, 975;

(b) Greene, 1176;

(c) Leeds, 577;

(d) Lisbon, 2619;

(e) Livermore, 607;

(f) Livermore Falls, 931;

(g) Sabattus, 1294;

(h) Turner, 1435; and

(i) Wales, 381;

(2) For Commissioner District Number 2:

(a) Auburn, 6935;

(b) Mechanic Falls, 937;

(c) Minot, 671; and

(d) Poland, 1454; and

(3) For Commissioner District Number 3:

(a) Lewiston, 1.

These adjustment figures must be revised after each decennial census.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

Effective April 13, 2010.

Office of the Revisor of Statutes
State House, Room 108
Augusta, ME 04333