§801-A. Definitions

The systems of plane coordinates that have been established by the National Ocean Survey, and the National Geodetic Survey, or their successors, and the State for defining and stating the geographic positions of locations of points on the surface of the earth within the State are hereafter to be known and designated as the Maine Coordinate System of 1927, the Maine Coordinate System of 1983 and the Maine Coordinate System of 2000. For the purpose of the use of these systems, the State is divided into the "East Zone," "West Zone," "Maine 2000 West Zone," "Maine 2000 Central Zone," and "Maine 2000 East Zone" as follows. [PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

1. East Zone. The area included in the following counties constitutes the East Zone: Aroostook, Hancock, Knox, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Waldo and Washington. [PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

2. West Zone. The area included in the following counties constitutes the West Zone: Androscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin, Kennebec, Lincoln, Oxford, Sagadahoc, Somerset and York. [PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

3. Maine 2000 West Zone. The Maine 2000 West Zone is the area bounded by the following: beginning at the point determined by the intersection of the Maine state line and the county line between Aroostook and Somerset counties, thence following the Somerset County line easterly to the northwest corner of the Somerset and Piscataguis county line, thence southerly along this county line to the northeast corner of the Athens town line, thence westerly along the town line between Brighton Plantation and Athens to the westerly corner of Athens, and continuing southerly to the southwest corner of the town of Athens where it meets the Cornville town line, thence westerly along the Cornville - Solon town line to the intersection of the Cornville - Madison town line, thence southerly and westerly following the Madison town line to the intersection of the Norridgewock - Skowhegan town line, thence southerly along the Skowhegan town line to the Fairfield town line, thence easterly along the Fairfield town line to the Clinton town line, being determined by the Kennebec River, thence southerly along the Kennebec River to the Augusta city line, thence easterly along the city line to the Windsor town line, thence southerly along the Augusta - Windsor town line to the northwest corner of the Lincoln County line, thence southerly along the westerly Lincoln County line to the boundary of the State of Maine as determined by maritime law, thence following the state boundary southwesterly to the Maine - New Hampshire state line, thence following the state boundary on the westerly side of the State to the point of beginning.

[PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

4. Maine 2000 Central Zone. The Maine 2000 Central Zone is the area bounded by the following: beginning at the point determined by the intersection of the Maine state line and the county line between Aroostook and Somerset counties, thence northeasterly along the state line to the intersection of the Fort Kent - Frenchville town line, thence southerly along this town line to the intersection with the New Canada Plantation - T17 R5 WELS town line, thence continuing southerly along town lines to the northeast corner of Penobscot County, thence continuing southerly along the Penobscot County line to the intersection of the Woodville - Mattawamkeag town line (being determined by the Penobscot River), thence along the Penobscot River to the Enfield - Lincoln town line, thence southeasterly along the Enfield - Lincoln town line and the Enfield - Lowell town line, thence westerly to the northeast corner of the town of Passadumkeag, thence south-southeasterly along town lines to the intersection of the Hancock County line, thence southerly along the county line to the intersection of the Otis -Mariaville town line, thence southerly along the Otis - Mariaville town line to the Ellsworth city line, thence southerly along the Ellsworth city line to the intersection of the Surry - Trenton town line, thence southerly along the easterly town lines of Surry, Blue Hill, Brooklin, Deer Isle and Stonington to the Knox County line, thence following the Knox County line to the boundary of the State of Maine as determined by maritime law, thence following the state boundary westerly to the intersection of the

Sagadahoc - Lincoln county line, thence northerly along the easterly boundary of the Maine 2000 West Zone, as defined, to the point of beginning.

[PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

5. Maine 2000 East Zone. The Maine 2000 East Zone is the area bounded by the following: beginning at the point determined by the intersection of the Maine state line and the Fort Kent - Frenchville town line, thence continuing easterly and then southerly along the state line to the boundary of the State of Maine as determined by maritime law, thence following the state boundary westerly to the intersection of the Knox - Hancock county line, thence northerly along the easterly boundary of the Maine 2000 Central Zone, as defined, to the point of beginning.

[PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2011, c. 126, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.