Maine Revised Statutes

§4421. Directors; appointment; president; vacancy

The Maine Port Authority consists of a board of directors, referred to in this section as "the board." The board consists of 7 directors who must be broadly representative of the State and must have a background in international trade, marine transportation, finance or economic development. Five directors are appointed by the Governor, each to serve for 4 years. The Commissioner of Transportation serves as an ex officio member of the board and as chair of the board and president. The president of the Maine International Trade Center serves as an ex officio member of the board. The directors shall elect a vice-chair, treasurer and other officers as the board determines necessary. A vacancy must be filled for an unexpired term by the Governor. [2007, c. 134, §4 (RPR).]

1.  Meetings of directors; compensation.  All the powers of the Maine Port Authority may be exercised by the board in lawful meeting and a majority of the directors is necessary for a quorum. Regular meetings of the board may be established by bylaw, and notice need not be given to the directors of a regular meeting. Each director, other than those who serve ex officio, is entitled to compensation in the amount of $100 per board meeting plus expenses, but only if the compensation is provided solely from the revenues of the Maine Port Authority.
[ 2007, c. 134, §4 (RPR) .]
2.  Actions at law or in equity.  Actions at law or in equity in the courts of this State or before the Public Utilities Commission or Workers' Compensation Board may be brought by or against the Maine Port Authority as if it were a private corporation, except that its property may not be attached, trusteed or sequestered, but, if a judgment recovered against it is not paid within 30 days, its personal property may be seized on execution.
[ 2007, c. 134, §4 (RPR) .]
1981, c. 456, §A88 (NEW). 1983, c. 812, §147 (AMD). 2007, c. 134, §4 (RPR).