PLEASE NOTE: Legislative Information *cannot* perform research, provide legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

An Act To Validate the Property Tax Commitments in the Towns That are Members of Community School District No. 9

Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, the towns of Crystal, Dyer Brook, Island Falls, Merrill, Oakfield and Smyrna are the member towns of Community School District No. 9; and

Whereas, in accordance with the school budget validation process mandated by state law, the voters of Community School District No. 9 repeatedly rejected the school budget as proposed by the district's board of directors during the summer and fall of 2008; and

Whereas, the repeated rejection of the school budget by the voters prevented the member towns of the district from committing their property taxes in a timely manner, which led to the necessary and budgeted expenditures of those communities exceeding their revenues; and

Whereas, the 6 member towns of Community School District No. 9 committed their property taxes on the basis of a reasonably estimated school district budget; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. Validation and authorization. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the property taxes committed by the towns of Crystal, Dyer Brook, Island Falls, Merrill, Oakfield and Smyrna in 2008 are validated.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

Effective April 16, 2009.